The Fault in our Stars *sigh*

Oh… this book. *dreamy sigh*

I was so moved by this book. So incredibly moved in ways that are easy to explain and not so.

I hate having to summarize or categorize a book when the setting or topic often is sort of just happenstance to the story and the other topics that are discussed. So, that said, this book is about a teenage girl who has cancer and falls in love with a teenage boy who has cancer. But it’s truly so, so much more than that and I hope you won’t stop reading this review because it sounds depressing. This actually got me thinking about the other books I LOVE – Unbroken, The Book Thief, Catcher in the Rye, Time Traveler’s Wife… all of these would sound unappealing and perhaps even downright weird with a high level overview. Yet, that’s the level of summary I always end up giving and it’s what most ppl are looking for.

That little digression aside, there were so, so many passages in this book that just struck me. Here are a few:

  • The minute I KNEW I loved this book was when they made a joke about a misuse on the word literal. “The Literal Heart of Jesus.” That was when I determined I could totally hang with these characters for 300 pages.
  • I think I was a tad bit in love with Augustus Waters as well, and I realized that right here “You are so busy being you that you have no idea how utterly unprecedented you are.”
  • And the moment I knew I really loved Hazel was when she quoted TS Eliot’s Lovesong of J Alfred Prufrock. I had a big poetry phase, and I’m totally over it now, and didn’t even like Eliot that much, but something about this poem just rocks. And when Hazel started lulling Gus to sleep with it I had to run off and read it again.
  • And also, the end. I just reread it. ::blows nose::

There’s just something about this book that seemed to take me back to high school and college, when I got really into my own creativity and individuality and reading different types of books than (what I perceived to be) the “normal” ones everyone else was into. Maybe it’s because that’s where the main characters are in life. I loved that it’s a sad, sad circumstance and it’s not an epically sad book. There’s light and laughter and so much humanity.

I can’t wait to read it again. This is a distinction very few books receive, but I truly considered starting over when I got to the end.

One thought on “The Fault in our Stars *sigh*

  1. Pingback: Book Dump | McBlog 2.0

Leave a Reply

