Makin’ Cakes! (Yogurt Cake Recipe Time)

In follow up to my lenghty and conflicted review of Bringing Up Bebe, I wanted to share the recipe for Gateau au Yaourt. (For someone who speaks zero French, these words are incomprehensible. Can I buy a consonant???) So, in English, Yogurt Cake!

(I’m sorry. I’m really not *anti-French* at all & don’t mean to be insensitive, but something about a word like that makes me laugh. I mean, my mouth just won’t do that. Yaourt? Other languages are weird.)

This recipe seems to have some buzz around it. The making of the cake is sort of the fun and different part. It’s slightly easier than if you were to make a *real* cake from scratch (thought not as easy as a boxed cake, baker beware). I’ve done it with Margo’s help twice now and she’s really enjoyed it. It’s fun to have her help and of course she loves to eat it.

Since the French are all philosophical about their child rearing (or at least Druckerman is in her telling about it), the theory behind this cake is that it teaches children to wait. One of the French values that is central to its culture is … willpower. I haven’t read it, but I think it comes into play in the “French Women Don’t Get Fat” book… they indulge in sweets and bad stuff, but not all the time. For their kids, they don’t do frequent snacks, but the afternoon snack is a standard. The author mentioned baking the cake together (or the child doing it alone!) in the morning and eating it for snack, teaching the child about waiting. *shrug* I guess.

Stirrin’ it up!

What’s special about the recipe is it calls for yogurt in serving-size containers as the first ingredient and you use those cups to measure all of the rest of the ingredients. At Margo’s age, I had her dump the ingredients in, but eventually I suppose she can measure stuff herself. She helped stir as well. Last week, we made some in a mini-bundt tin for Teacher Appreciation Week. It’s a different type of cake… but tasty and the process of making it is fun. A good toddler exercise!

Recipe: Yogurt Cake (gâteau au yaourt)

(copied from Cake Student bc I”m too lazy to type it from the book…:) )

Ingredients

  • 2 (6oz) containers of plain whole milk yogurt (keep containers for measuring the other ingredients) <- I couldn’t find 6 oz whole milk yogurt so had to use 3 4oz things. Involves math, baker beware.
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 containers sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • just under 1 container of vegetable oil
  • 4 containers flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 container mini chocolate chips or 2 containers of frozen berries (optional) <- we’ve done it twice, once w/ blueberries & once with choc chips. OBV the chocolate was better, but fruit wasn’t bad & Margo ate it.
  • Crème fraîche (optional)
  • powdered sugar (optional)

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 F
  2. Coat a loaf pan or 9″ round cake pan with cooking spray or oil.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, combine the yogurt, eggs, sugar, vanilla, and oil.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine the flour and baking powder.
  5. Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture, stir until just combined. You can now add the chocolate chips or berries if using them.
  6. Scopp it all into your baking pan, bake for 35-45 minutes or until golden and the cake springs up when touched (or when a toothpick inserted is pulled out clean). Let it cool on a rack.
  7. Dust with powdered sugar (optional) and serve with the Crème fraîche (optional).

Preparation time: 15 minute(s)

Cooking time: 40 minute(s)

4 thoughts on “Makin’ Cakes! (Yogurt Cake Recipe Time)

  1. What is the second to last (optional) ingredient? Also, I bet the french tots aren’t allowed to climb on the countertop you permissive American parent 😉

    • I Americanized whatever that is to cool whip 😉 I forgot to serve it w/ the whipped cream too… it would add a little something, but it’s perfectly yummy alone.

      Oh no, she’s asserting her independence up there on the counter. *nods* Yup, totally a French thing.

  2. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found
    a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

