This Just In: I Love Veggies

I’m not a vegetarian, and I never really thought I could be one. But lately, I’ve been ALL UP ON THE VEGGIES. Trying new ones, opening my mind to things I’d tried once a long time ago. Like now? I’m going through a major guacamole phase. And I’m getting there with hummus, though I still don’t think I see what all the fuss is about.

This week, I made two killer veggie centered meals I’d like to share with you. I can in no way claim to have invented these, but I do feel like a genius to have figured it out. I think it’s like “reinventing the veggie wheel.”

Veggie Pita
Ingredients (Mostly from the salad bar at work, but could be easily cobbled together from home/store/etc)

A bunch of veggies. I used red peppers, onions (also SO INTO onions! Odd.), artichokes
Shredded Cheddar cheese
Hummus (leftover from lunch out the day before.)
Pita

I slathered the pita with hummus and stuffed all the veggies in that I could. It was messy and delicious, and I couldn’t believe how filling!

Veggie Wrap
Ingredients:
1 yellow squash
1 zucchini
1 onion
4 garlic cloves, minced
a bunch of cherry tomatoes, halved
1 red pepper
Fresh Mozzarella
Olive oil
Balsamic Vinegar
Burrito wraps

Chop all the veggies and combine in a bowl. Sprinkle with olive oil and whatever seasonings you want. I was very loosey goosey here – some Oregano, Basil…salt I think? Heat up a skillet with some more oil and dump it all in. Add a splash of basalmic (a little goes a long way). Cook until they’re at your desired firmness, and add chunks of fresh mozzarella at the last minute, allowing them to just barely melt. Eat it in a wrap.

The veggie mix I made produced about 4 wraps worth, and you could totally just eat it as a side dish. And with different veggies, depending on what you have on hand.

Truth? I think I’m trying new things because of Margo. She’s really impressing me lately with her willingness to try new stuff and I can’t really say chicken-or-egg who’s inspiring who to try more stuff and be healthier! So, there’s a little unintended health benefit of our toddler eating habits, I suppose.

8 thoughts on “This Just In: I Love Veggies

  1. I’m with you! I feel like you are in my head when I read your posts. Strange.
    Way to go with all the veggie eating 🙂

      • Boringly. Not a word but that is the answer.
        I have been on a guacamole kick. We have been cooking lots of beans (black beans and pinto beans).
        Black beans we have in taco salad, enchiladas, or just over rice.
        Lots of cut up cantalope, cucumbers, and tomatoes.
        I also like to saute zucchini, squash, and onions lightly in olive oil and a little seasoning. Loving the veggies lately!!

  2. Yum!! I love avocados! Like in a crazy way… I eat them plain. One of my favorite ways to eat them is sliced on top of a Boca Chik’n patty – delicious!

    That veggie wrap sounds awesome I might make that for dinner tonight!

  3. The Produce Box is really helping our veggie consumption. Our favorite way to cook almost anything veggie lately is to grill it. I usually grill up a bunch and use the in a wrap the next day with feta cheese and hummus.

Leave a Reply

