My Salty Run

So, excellent news (for me, and those of you who are really invested in this 😉 ) … Saturday I had a great run. It involved a lot more thought and planning, but as I peeled myself out of my sweatsoaked, towel-lined car that morning after the drive home, I deemed it “Worth it!”

I ran 16 miles in 2:53, definitely was ready to stop and feeling tired in the last few miles, but nothing like last weekend. It felt good, I was happy to get my pace below 11:00/mile for that distance and even gave me the confidence to actually think about the marathon a little and times/pacing for that.

In short, it was just what I needed.

So, I pretty much used the fueling plan from my previous post (and actually took a salt cap at the end as well (4 total). That was classic, swallowing a pill after 16 miles, of COURSE I aspirated water and coughed like a pack-a-day old lady for 5 minutes. Good times. I met friends for miles 6-10 and 11-16, meaning a return to my car/meeting spot, meaning a refill on fuel. With this distance and the necessary amounts of liquids, that’s probably my best option for now.

I feel so much better than I did last week too. Knowing that I was having a salt deficiency and that was causing me to feel so lethargic and awful, all I can say is THANK GOD. I was having awful thoughts, thinking this was the next two months of my life! Even with having done 16 miles, the past 3 days have been so much better. Salt, FTW!

Anyway, just wanted to share the happy ending. Lesson learned!

Leave a Reply

