The Post-Election Post ( in which I don’t gloat)

I know this viral 30 days of thankfulness thing is going around FB and the social Interwebs. It’s not the worst thing I can think of, but sometimes it does come off as… IDK, bragging? I won’t give you a list of how perfect my kid and husband are or all of the things I have. But, running the risk of being “unoriginal” in November, I have a sort of overwhelming feeling of gratitude today, mostly relating to yesterday’s election and the results.

Spoiler: My gratitude is not (very) politically divisive.

I’m thankful to live in a country where we all can vote. Women, minorities, any citizen. I’m proud that 69% of my state voted, and that I don’t know of anyone who didn’t vote. I’m proud to include my daughter in this tradition and am excited to continue to teach her about her civic duty.

I’m thankful for the progress this country voted for yesterday. Gay marriage, marijuana legalization, openly gay senator, more women in the US Senate than ever before… Americans are becoming more open minded. And voting down crazy pants men with terrifying opinions on abortion and rape that have no business being legislated. *fist bumps all around on that*

I’m really thankful for social media. Last night as results came in, and even more so, during the 3 intense Prez debates… it was the perfect mix of substance, snark and humor that balanced out the tension. I’m happy to have a place to go to share opinions without losing friends for them. (That’d be Twitter, not Facebook. I most definitely have burned bridges on Facebook… but that’s a whole ‘nother story.)

And I’m thankful to have a husband I can high five when we finally received the “Obama Wins” headline late last night. I’m not a gloating type, and I truly DO empathize with Romney’s die hards. I was that distraught in 2004. *Clinton lip bite* I feel your pain. I’m more thankful to have a husband I can rant with, discuss issues with and who is engaged in politics too. And extremely thankful we agree (most of the time.)

I’m (mostly) thankful it’s over. I won’t miss the election, or the Facebook and Twitter promoted stuff (which, since we hardly watch TV sort of replaces negative ads for me), but I will look forward to the tell-all postmortems! When does Game Change 2 come out?

7 thoughts on “The Post-Election Post ( in which I don’t gloat)

  1. I was that distraught in 2004 as well… and we watched the returns in Florida. We were there to get married 5 days later. Worst pre-wedding event ever. Fortunately we were on an island to drown our sorrows.

    In 2008, I got a ticket to the inauguration and the boys were 2. I never thought when they were 6 we would let them stay up that late to watch but last night brought politics to a much higher level for me, sharing it with the boys. They were so upset with each state Obama lost. “How could North Dakota vote for Romney? Grandma lives there!” So awesome. Can’t wait to hear their thoughts when they are 10.

    • Ugh, I canvassed for Kerry, probably THE hardest job ever. And I was all young and idealistic and couldn’t fathom that not everyone everywhere was a democrat. It was awful.

      We were just talking about how next time Margo will be 6, it’s exciting to hear your boys were so into it! I was dreading a potential Romney victory because Margo is always on repeat and she says “Obama lives in the White House” and having to constantly correct that/reexplain that someone else does… would have made me sad/driven me nuts! For that, and many other reasons, I’m glad Obama has four more years.

  2. Amen to progress – it is a beautiful thing to see how things never thought I’d see when I was a child, just becoming aware of how imperfect the world could be, are now changing – and realizing my kids get to take it for granted (in a good way). Susanna was asking me about voting last night and I took the opportunity to tell her about how women and people with darker skin were not allowed to vote in the past. For some reason I used my typically simple term of saying, “Doesn’t that seem silly?”. She replied, “No.” Dramatic pause….”It’s not silly.That’s not fair!” She could not wrap her mind around the idea that Obama, the only president she’s known, would not have been allowed to vote in an earlier time.

    I remember 2004 also …. rough days.

    69% is a great turnout…do you think social media has effected voter turnout for the better? All that peer pressure coming at you all day…

    • That is an adorable reaction, on par with “it’s called winter!” šŸ˜‰

      That’s the gift we give our children, right? I never had to fight for my right to vote, as a citizen, or a woman… and keeping them aware of that history, gift and obligation is really important. Margo was way more concerned about the firetrucks at our polling place, next time we’ll get heavy šŸ™‚ I am planning on watching Obama’s speech tonight when we get home, she loves Obama. Don’t know where she gets that from.

      Also, loves her purse full of money and constantly counts it and won’t share it. So, some Republican tendencies. SNAP (sorry)

      I wonder how turnout stacks up to years past… I think I heard that NC was 70% in ’08, so pretty similar here. 69% sorta impressed me, honestly! Interesting theory on social media. It sure made me feel good to see pics of I voted stickers and hear reports… I could see the peer pressure argument for sure.

  3. No matter what side of the fence you are on today, I think it’s important to teach kids to stand up and take advantage of the right to vote, which so many people had to fight too hard for. I enjoyed taking Luke with me to vote this year. Every polling center we passed yesterday, he asked me “What are those people doing Mom?” I tried as best I could to explain to him that they were voting for the next President. “Oh. I want a present Mom.” No, not present son, president. The president is a person whose job is to be in charge of our whole big country. He lives in the White House. “A white house?” Yes. “I want a president Mom.” Me too son. I look forward to the next election which will make a lot more sense to him!

    • I heard about a lot of kids disappointed that, as it turned out, they weren’t going along “boating” :).

      When I was standing outside the polls in the freezing cold, people kept commenting about how I must be so cold…and I honestly just felt so amazed and grateful that people could just drive up in their cars, we could smile at each other (even though easily 85% of them were voting not for the people whose materials were in my hands), and walk in, vote, walk out and go to work. Just like that. We focus so much on the division, but seriously, we live in a place where
      you can vote that simply and peacefully, making their voice count without threat…so many people will never see that kind of process.

Leave a Reply

