Blogging motivation: #NaBloPoMo edition

Well, I obviously didn’t blog yesterday, per my NaBloPoMo obligation. (So *shucks* I can’t win any BlogHer prizes. Let’s face it, I didn’t really want them anyway. As much as I like blogging and reading some blogs, I think the BlogHer conference seems like a big sorority party and I’m SO not that kind of girl. Ahem.)

So, I have been feeling more connected to blogging. Writing daily has made it easier to think of things to write about, generally, and I think the process of writing and sharing (and conversing through comments) has been fun and useful. Even though I won’t be able to claim *true* success on #NaBloPoMo since I missed a day, I do think the ultimate purpose of it is still taking hold for me.

It is hardest on the weekend, as I assumed it’d be since I spend little time in front of a computer on Saturdays and Sundays. No big surprise there. I also have hardly any readers on the weekend, which is another blow for my motivation. Did anyone even READ my post Saturday? (Well, 25 of you…) Sunday was this insanely hectic day of going from one thing to the next and doing laundry, cleaning, making dinner in between… I collapsed after Margo went to bed. Anyway, excuses.

It sort of made me think about what my motivation is for doing this daily blogging thing. At many times in my life I’ve been a journaler and it’s been useful in working through stuff I was feeling or going through, but I feel like, only 12 days in, blogging is sort of proving its worth a little.

I like the sharing part. I think my failure to launch yesterday was due in large part to not wanting to blog to no one. I think that’s been part of the issue all along – since I’m so inconsistent I don’t have a strong following.  While I don’t need to be the most popular, branded mommy-blogger in the world, it is nice to have readers and that process sort of reinforces the blogging through comments. And pressure (<- that’s the part I’m less sure about. Never really seeking out added obligations.)

I like the writing freedom as well. I’m a writer by trade, and I don’t have freedom in that. I’m very constricted in the style and topic. I like it, I’m okay with it, but I also have more to give and it’s nice to share that. At times the blank post is maybe TOO free… but like I said, the process of coming up with good topics IS, in fact, becoming easier the more I do it. Just like they said it would!

It’s nice to have my own little space. Even though everyone CAN/COULD do it, not everyone does. And the process makes me have more respect for those of you who do have the branded, professional looking mommy (or otherwise) blogs because HOLY CRAP when do you do it? While I’m not as overwhelmed as I assumed I’d be doing this daily, it’s a commitment.

I’m sorry, I know you were all like “NO POST FROM JAMIE ON SUNDAY!? What every shall we DO?!” Or not. But thanks for sticking with me anyway 🙂

4 thoughts on “Blogging motivation: #NaBloPoMo edition

  1. I don’t get a chance to comment on your blog as much as I’d like, but I do read your posts on my phone! I linked to you on my blog yesterday as a fellow NaBloPoMo participant 🙂 You are right about the commitment. Normally I try to post 2-3 times a week, so it’s quite a challenge to post daily, but it’s a challenge I like.

  2. Maybe you could assert a “sabbath” from blogging one day a week? No guilt. I would respect that, esp since you write for a living.

  3. My experience blogging is that people don’t comment on weekends bc if they do read, they are reading from phones and then running off to do something. I find this good because it means people are spending time away from the computer!

    As for blog stats and commenting though, I have found no good reason why people comment on one post and not on another. I mean, I see my stats and between 500-600 people read every day. Sometimes I have one comment (ALWAYS my friend Joanna) and sometimes it is 40. I can really pour my heart into something and get zero comments, then post something inane about poop and get 30 comments.

    For myself, I have to have my own motivation to do it. I bind my blog into books each year since it’s our family journal. But if I did it for readers or comments or stats, I would personally stop because I want to write what I want to write.

Leave a Reply

